8:00am-9:00am
(1 hr)

Breakfast & Registration

9:00am-10:15am
(1 hr 15 min)

SEO Track

The “New” Killer Content (#smx #31A)
Many people were surprised when Google’s Panda update “pandalized” their rankings. Google has made it clear that quality content is key – but what exactly does that mean? And how do you create panda-proof content? This session explores the various types of content sites should be creating, including sales pages, blog posts and white papers; how to repurpose existing content and slice it up for social media; and many other techniques that will help your overall visibility and keep your sites out of trouble.

Moderator: Chris Sherman, Executive Editor, Search Engine Land (@CJSherman)

Q&A Moderator: Michelle Robbins, Vice President of Technology, Third Door Media, Inc. (@MichelleRobbins)

Speakers:

Heather Lloyd-Martin, President and CEO, SuccessWorks Search Marketing (@heatherlloyd)
Gary Magnone, Senior SEO Strategist, Thunder SEO (@garyjmag)
Shari Thurow, Founder and SEO Director, Omni Marketing Interactive (@sharithurow)
Jon Wuebben, CEO, Content Launch (@jonwuebben)

Analytics & Tools Track

Justifying The Investment: Analytics For Social Media (#smx #31B)
It won’t be long before management and clients are questioning the value of your social media investment…if they’re not already. So how do you demonstrate the ROI of Facebook, Twitter, Google+ and other social media marketing opportunities? This session takes a deep dive on emerging social media analytics methods, how to establish and document social media key performance indicators (KPIs), and measure conversions even when engagements don’t result in transactions. We’ll also suggest the tools you can use to measure ROI on your social media marketing activities.

Moderator: Greg Finn, Chief Marketing Officer, Cypress North (@gregfinn)

Speakers:

Tami Dalley, Vice President of Analytics and Insights, Buddy Media (@DataDivaDalley)
Merry Morud, Account Manager, aimClear (@MerryMorud)
Monique Pouget, Senior SEO & Social Media Strategist, Thunder SEO (@moniquethegeek)
Courtney Seiter, Community manager, Raven Tools (@ravencourts)

Vertical Track

YouTube Success Stories For Marketers (#smx #31C)
YouTube is the second largest search engine on the web after Google, so you definitely need to have search-optimized videos. But there are many other opportunities available to marketers who want to reach customers via online video. This session offers case studies, tips and tactics for easy ways leverage your online video assets.

Moderator: Disa Johnson, CEO, SearchReturn (@AirDisa)

Q&A Moderator: Chris Silver Smith, President, Argent Media (@si1very)

Speakers:

Arnie Kuenn, President, Vertical Measures (@ArnieK)
Jeff Martin, Director of Search Marketing, Touchstorm (@Jeff_Martin)
Manny Rivas, Online Marketing Account Manager, aimClear (@mannyrivas)
Mark Robertson, Founder, ReelSEO (@MarkRRobertson)

Enterprise & Paid Search Track


Solution Spotlight by Marin Software (9:00-9:05)
Solution Spotlights are brief introductions to relevant products and services offered by SMX exhibitors and sponsors.


Maximizing Enterprise PPC ROI (#smx #31D)
Managing enterprise paid search campaigns can be a nightmare, especially when different departments think they should “own” the responsibility. This session explores the challenges of running an enterprise-level paid search campaign, and how to get all stakeholders in alignment to assure the maximum return possible.

Moderator: Patricia Hursh, President and Founder, SmartSearch Marketing (@patriciahursh)

Q&A Moderator: Cameron Cowan, Product Manager, Adobe (@SEMCameron)

Speakers:

Mike Grinberg, Search Marketing Manager, Nina Hale Inc (@MikeGrinberg)
Dave Ragals, VP, Global Client Services, IgnitionOne (@dragals)
David Roth, Sr. Director, Search Marketing, Yahoo
Bill Staples, UK Director of Search, GroupM (@billstaples)

Clinic Track

PPC Tune-Up Clinic With The SMX Mechanics (#smx #31E)
Just like your favorite old car, PPC campaigns can use a tune-up every now and then to keep them running well. In this hands-on clinic, our certified (and certifiable!) SMX PPC Mechanics will offer you their best expert advice on your PPC ads, bidding tactics, or anything else on your mind. Bring your toughest PPC questions! Based loosely on the hilarious jovial NPR radio show, Car Talk, this session is guaranteed to be as fun as it is informative!

Moderator: Matt Van Wagner, President, Find Me Faster (@mvanwagner)

Speakers:

Rick Galan, Director of Paid Search Marketing, Mercent (@RickGalan(Q&A Speaker)
Brad Geddes, Founder, Certified Knowledge (@bgtheory(Q&A Speaker)
Kelly Gillease, VP Marketing, Viator (@kellpickles(Q&A Speaker)
Barb Young, President, PPC Strategies (@ppcstrategies(Q&A Speaker)

10:15am-10:45am
(30 min)

Refreshment Break

10:45am-Noon
(1 hr 15 min)

SEO Track

SEO Essentials For Migrating Websites (#smx #32A)
It’s an SEO’s worst nightmare: for whatever reason, you need to migrate your website to a new host, CMS, or (horror!) a new domain name. But don’t panic – there are proven techniques that can help minimize the impact on search visibility caused by a site migration. Panelists on this session share best practices and tactics to ensure all of your hard-fought SEO efforts aren’t for naught.

Moderator: Christine Churchill, President, KeyRelevance (@keyrelevance)

Q&A Moderator: Corey Morris, SEO Strategist, emfluence (@coreydmorris)

Speakers:

Jessica Bowman, CEO, SEOinhouse.com (@jessicabowman)
Rhea Drysdale, Co-Founder & CEO, Outspoken Media, Inc. (@rhea)
Ryan Jones, Sr. SEO Strategist, Team Detroit
Dana Lookadoo, SEO Consultant and Trainer, Yo! Yo! SEO (@lookadoo)
Shari Thurow, Founder and SEO Director, Omni Marketing Interactive (@sharithurow)

Analytics & Tools Track

What Search Data Reveals About Customer Needs & Desires – And How To Use It (#smx #32B)
Marketers often focus on keyword research tools to select a portfolio of keywords. But there’s another, often overlooked source of keywords that’s possibly more valuable: your own search logs and analytics search activity reports. These rich troves of data reveal exactly what people are looking for, can help you tune your SEO and PPC efforts, and also reveal “holes” in your site where people are looking for something they aren’t finding. Bonus: this data also serves as a virtual focus group that can be significant in guiding product or service development.

Moderator: Danny Sullivan, Editor-in-Chief, Search Engine Land (@dannysullivan)

Q&A Moderator: Cameron Cowan, Product Manager, Adobe (@SEMCameron)

Speakers:

Bill Hunt, President, Back Auimuth Consulting
Michael King, SEO Manager, Publicis Modem
Hamid Saify, Search Marketing Director, Deutsch LA (@hamidsaify)

Vertical Track

How To Play In The Exploding Mobile Ads Universe (#smx #32C)
eMarketer predicts that mobile ad spend will surpass $17 billion in 2012. Haven’t done mobile search ads yet? Stop missing out! This session looks at mobile paid search opportunities and how search marketers can get ahead of this tsunami of opportunity.

Moderator: Greg Sterling, Founding Principal, Sterling Market Intelligence (@gsterling)

Q&A Moderator: Kelly Gillease, VP Marketing, Viator (@kellpickles)

Speakers:

John Busby, VP, Marchex Institute, marchex (@JohnMBusby)
Craig Hagopian, Chief Marketing Officer, xAd (@xADinc)
Jeff Licciardi, Group Account Director, Performics (@jlicciardi)
Dai Pham, Mobile Ads Marketing Team, Google (@dpham32)

Enterprise & Paid Search Track


Solution Spotlight by BrightEdge (10:45-10:50)
Solution Spotlights are brief introductions to relevant products and services offered by SMX exhibitors and sponsors.


Enterprise SEO – Challenges & Solutions (#smx #32D)
Large organizations face unique challenges when it comes to SEO. Multiple websites, perhaps running on multiple content management systems, in different countries and languages…the list goes on. And with increasingly strict content guidelines, it’s crucial for organizations to coordinate their SEO efforts across the enterprise. In this session, speakers with hands-on experience managing large-scale SEO efforts share best practices and offer practical advice for maximizing site visibility and achieving organizational harmony.

Moderator: Adam Audette, President, RKG (@audette)

Q&A Moderator: Chris Silver Smith, President, Argent Media (@si1very)

Speakers:

Jordan Koene, Head of Global Content, eBay (@jtkoene)
Warren Lee, SEO Manager, ADOBE (@seocubed)
Ian McAnerin, CEO, McAnerin International Inc (@mcanerin)
Markus Renstrom, Head of SEO, Yahoo! (@markusrenstrom)

Clinic Track

Analytics Clinic (#smx #32E)
Analytics provide insight and actionable information about the performance of your search marketing campaigns. The accomplished marketers conducting this session will share their favorite reports and how to interpret them. You’ll have the opportunity to ask questions about analytics and get advice from our experts one-on-one.

Moderator: Elisabeth Osmeloski, Managing Editor, Search Engine Land (@elisabethos)

Speakers:

Monique Pouget, Senior SEO & Social Media Strategist, Thunder SEO (@moniquethegeek)
Benjamin Vigneron, Director of Analytics & Automation, eSearchVision (@eSearchVision(Q&A Speaker)

Noon-1:00pm
(1 hr)
Lunch sponsored by
Sponsored by aimClear


Lunch
1:00pm-2:15pm
(1 hr 15 min)

SEO Track

Ask The SEOs – Open Q&A Forum (#smx #33A)
We’ve assembled a panel of experts with more than 200 years of SEO experience combined. They stand ready to provide answers to any of your questions relating to organic search. There’s no PowerPoint, just plenty of time to answer your questions on a range of SEO topics.

Moderator: Danny Sullivan, Editor-in-Chief, Search Engine Land (@dannysullivan)

Q&A Moderator: Michelle Robbins, Vice President of Technology, Third Door Media, Inc. (@MichelleRobbins)

Speakers:

Alex Bennert, In House SEO, Wall Street Journal (@seosylph(Q&A Speaker)
Greg Boser, SVP of Search Services, BlueGlass Interactive, Inc. (@GregBoser(Q&A Speaker)
Bruce Clay, President, Bruce Clay, Inc. (@bruceclayinc(Q&A Speaker)
Vanessa Fox, Contributing Editor, Search Engine Land (@vanessafox(Q&A Speaker)
Todd Friesen, Director of SEO, Performics
Rae Hoffman-Dolan, CEO, Sugarrae SEO Firm

Analytics & Tools Track

Life In A [Not Provided] World (#smx #33B)
Google no longer passes the search terms visitors used to get to your site…in some situations. So how can you know what’s working in your SEO efforts if the keywords are “not provided?” You’ll leave this session knowing the implications of this very recent Google change and tactics for coping.

Moderator: AJ Kohn, Owner, Blind Five Year Old (@ajkohn)

Q&A Moderator: Dixon Jones, Director, MajesticSEO (@Dixon_Jones)

Speakers:

Micah Fisher-Kirshner, Senior SEO Manager, Become, Inc
Nathan Safran, Senior Research Analyst, Conductor (@Nathan_Safran)
Max Thomas, Founder / President, Thunder SEO (@thundermax)
Marty Weintraub, CEO, aimClear (@aimclear)

Vertical Track

Driving Ecommerce & Retail Sales Through Search Marketing (#smx #33C)
Online retailers have unique and challenges when it comes to search marketing. Attend to learn paid search and SEO tips and tactics for retailers and ecommerce merchants.

Moderator: Disa Johnson, CEO, SearchReturn (@AirDisa)

Q&A Moderator: Janet Driscoll Miller, President and CEO, Search Mojo (@janetdmiller)

Speakers:

Alex Edelstein, CEO, Servio
Rebecca Keen, Search Director, Razorfish (@rebeccakeen)
Everett Sizemore, Director of SEO Strategy, seOverflow (@balibones)
Lisa Williams, President, MEDIA forte marketing (@mediafortemktg)

Enterprise & Paid Search Track

Ask The Paid Search Buyers – Open Q&A Forum (#smx #33D)
Imagine sitting down with the internet’s equivalent of legendary advertising “mad men” David Ogilvy, Leo Burnett, and Mary Wells. Now imagine asking them to describe the secrets of their success:

  • how do you create effective ads with a few words and call to action;
  • how do you entice searchers to buy with carefully crafted landing pages and appealing “information scent”;
  • what tactics and strategies do you use when scrapping with sharp-elbowed competitors and strictly-business search engines so they can keep costs low and profits high?
Now, stop imagining! And come to this session where you can pose these (and your) questions to some of the most successful paid search marketers working in the industry today.

Moderator: Matt Van Wagner, President, Find Me Faster (@mvanwagner)

Speakers:

Jeff Ferguson, CEO, Fang Digital Marketing (@fangdigital(Q&A Speaker)
Patricia Hursh, President and Founder, SmartSearch Marketing (@patriciahursh(Q&A Speaker)
Lisa Sanner, Senior Client Manager, Point It Search Marketing Agency
Barb Young, President, PPC Strategies (@ppcstrategies(Q&A Speaker)

Clinic Track

Link Building Clinic (#smx #33E)
This interactive session takes volunteers from the audience and examines their questions about link building by going live to the web to seek answers and examples.

Moderator: Elisabeth Osmeloski, Managing Editor, Search Engine Land (@elisabethos)

Speakers:

Erin Everhart, Director of Web & Social Media Marketing, 352 Media Group (@erinever)
Michael King, SEO Manager, Publicis Modem

2:15pm-2:30pm
(15 min)

Refreshment Break

2:30pm-3:30pm
(1 hr)

SEO Track

Ask The Search Engines – Open Q&A Forum (#smx #34A)
You’ve heard plenty of discussion about SEO issues, what the search engines like, dislike, tactics to consider and so on. In this session, you’ll hear directly from the major search engines themselves. Bring your questions and get answers to topics about crawling, indexing, ranking and other organic search issues.

Moderator: Danny Sullivan, Editor-in-Chief, Search Engine Land (@dannysullivan)

Q&A Moderator: Ryan Jones, Manager SEO Strategy & Analytics, Sapient (@ryanjones)

Speakers:

Duane Forrester, Sr. Product Manager, Bing (@DuaneForrester(Q&A Speaker)
Tiffany Oberoi, Software Engineer, Google (@tiffanyoberoi)

Analytics & Tools Track

Industrial Strength SEO & Analytics Power Tools (#smx #34B)
This session takes you on a whirlwind tour of industrial strength SEO & analytics tools you’ll want to consider adding to your toolbox, many of which are free or moderately priced.

Moderator: Chris Sherman, Executive Editor, Search Engine Land (@CJSherman)

Q&A Moderator: Monique Pouget, Director of Content Marketing, Thunder SEO (@moniquethegeek)

Speakers:

Allison Hartsoe, VP Analytics, Semphonic (@ahartsoe)
Dixon Jones, Director, Majestic SEO
Dave Lloyd, Manager, Global SEO, Adobe Systems (@davelloyd1)

Vertical Track

Extreme SEO Makeover: The Final Results (#smx #34C)
Is it really possible to take a site from nowhere to top rankings in 3 months? That’s the challenge we issued to each intrepid speaker on this panel, who volunteered to work on a small business or charity website, each in a different niche, that was ranking on page 5 (or worse) on Google for the site’s main search term. Each speaker has worked with a website to improve SEO rankings, traffic and revenue. Our speakers will reveal what advice was offered, the changes made-and most importantly, the end results for each makeover.

Moderator: Rob Kerry, Head of Search, Ayima (@robkerry)

Q&A Moderator: Lisa Williams, President, MEDIA forte marketing (@mediafortemktg)

Speakers:

David Burgess, SEO Consultant, Ayima (@davidburgess00)
Russ Jones, Chief Technology Officer, Virante (@virante)
Jay Young, Co-founder, Link Fish Media (@LinkFishMedia)

Enterprise & Paid Search Track

Ask The Paid Search Reps – Open Q&A Forum (#smx #34D)
Successful search engine advertising requires more than “five minutes and a credit card.” Masters of paid search know you need to invest the time and money to be truly successful. Get face-to-face answers to your paid search questions from the search engines and major search ad networks at this session.

Moderator: Matt Van Wagner, President, Find Me Faster (@mvanwagner)

Q&A Moderator: Ted Ives, Owner, Coconut Headphones (@tedives)

Speakers:

John Gagnon, Senior SEM Manager, Microsoft Products, Microsoft (@jmgagnon(Q&A Speaker)
Tarun Jain, Product Manager, Google, Inc. (@tarunkj(Q&A Speaker)
Patrick Salmon, Senior Supervisor, Field Search Creative Development, Yahoo! (Q&A Speaker)

Clinic Track

Social Media Clinic (#smx #34E)
Got questions about how to deal with Google+ Twitter, Facebook or other social media sites. We’ve got experts on hand ready to take specific questions from the audience.

Moderator: Monica Wright, Social Media Editor, Search Engine Land and Marketing Land (@monicawright)

Speakers:

Chris Bennett, Founder/Director, 97th Floor (@chrisbennett)
Brent Csutoras, Social Media Consultant, Kairay Media, LLC (@brentcsutoras)